Tags

, , , , , ,

A couple of weeks ago, I found out that my little sister is going to have a baby. I’m so very happy for her and I can’t wait to meet my new little niece or nephew. To fill the time between now and when little Sea Monkey gets here, I’ll be doing some baby-sized knitting projects.

Sweaters are something I’ve wanted to try knitting for a while now, but the yarn and time investment seemed a little steep for me. Since babies start out very little – thank goodness – this is the perfect time to learn about making sweaters. I’ve decided to start with the “Baby Sachiko Kimono Sweater” by Erika Flory. It’s a really sweet little wrap-style sweater, worked mostly in stockinette stitch. The combination of such a simple pattern and being baby-sized, means that this project is working up quickly. Here is my progress so far:

20130207-212802.jpg

The two front pieces are complete and I’m working on the back now. Soon it will be time to start the sleeves and sew everything up! The yarn I’m using is great, it is the “Country” from Caron. This is a 75% Acrilyc/ 25% Merino wool blend. Usually I like to use 100% wool, but for Sea Monkey, I wanted this sweater to be super soft and easily washable. “Country” is machine washable on the delicate cycle in warm water. Another thing I really like about it is that it is soft has a little bit of a shine and lovely stitch definition. Here is a close up to give you bit of an idea of what the yarn is like:

20130207-213614.jpg

Hopefully, when I’m finished the sweater will look something like this:

20130207-213849.jpg

