Tags

, , , , ,

I know I’ve made something good when my husband tells me that the kitchen smells like his Grandma’s house. Usually when I get that reaction it’s related to chicken soup. Which is what we made for dinner tonight. Actually, because my husband is so marvelous, he did a lot of the cooking. The result was a pot of steaming hot awesomeness, perfect for when the weather can’t choose between Winter and Spring.

20130326-221936.jpg

The recipe we use for matzo balls is from the book, “Kosher and Traditional Jewish Cooking,” by Marlena Spieler.

Knaidlach (Matzo Balls)
3/4 Cup Matzo meal
2 Eggs, beaten
3 Tbsp Vegegtable oil or rendered chicken fat
1 Clove Garlic, minced
2 Tbsp fresh parsley, minced
1/2 Onion, finely grated
Salt and pepper or any additional seasonings to taste
About 6 tbsp water

Mix all ingredients. The texture should be like a thick paste. Cover the mixture and let it chill for 30 minutes. With wet hands, form bits of the batter into one inch balls. I like to drop them directly in the boiling soup after shaping each one. After all the balls have been added to the soup, cover and cook for 15 minutes. Enjoy!

